Community Centre

facebook page
Contact number
087 8331110.


A local venue suitable for a wide range of activities , events, meetings & classes. This Community facility is YOUR facility and we WELCOME you to use it .


Civil Parish record details , used pre 20th century …later DED divisions are used in census records
Explanation of administrative divisions such as D.E.D.s , Civil Parishs and Baronies , also some information on land measurement …

Annaghdown Civil Parish

Annaghdown :: Map not yet available County : Galway
Poor Law Union : Galway and Tuam
Barony : Clare
O.S. Maps : Galway – 42. 43 . 56 . 57 . 69 . 70 .82
R.C. Parish : Annaghdown (Currandulla)
R.C. Diocese : Tuam
R.C. Church : Currandulla
Marriage Records : 1834
Baptism records : 1834

Galway Library Field name book records

Official O.S. townland names in this parish are

Addergoole   Annagh East  
Annagh West   Annaghdown  
Aucloggeen   Ballylee  
Barrany   Barravilla  
Baunmore   Caherlea  
Carheeny   Carraghy  
Carrowbeg North   Carrowbeg South  
Castlecreevy   Castlequarter  
Cloonboo   Cloonleenaun  
Corbally   Corrandulla  
Coteenty   Cregduff  
Cregg   Drumbaun  
Drumgriffin   Gardenham  
Garrymore   Glebe  
Gortroe   Grange  
Illaunaneel   Illaunaneel West  
Illaunaveetry   Lisheenanoran  
Mace   Muckrush  
Mullaghadrum   Nineacres  
Park   Rabbit Island  
Racoona   Rinnaharney  
Shanbally   Shankill  
Slievefin   Tonagarraun  
Tonamace   Walsh s Island  
Woodpark   Ardgaineen  
Balrobuck Beg   Balrobuck More  
Biggera Beg   Biggera More  
Bolinsheen   Bunatober  
Bunnahevelly Beg   Bunnahevelly More  
Bunoghanaun   Cahermorris  
Carrownrooaun   Cartron  
Cloonagh   Cluidrevagh  
Corrandrum   Glenrevagh  
Kilcahill   Kilgill  
Tomnahulla   Turloughgarve  

Tithe Applotments (1823-38) Exact Locations unknown but in this parish.

Lewis’s Topographical Dictionary 1837.

Field Name books from 1840’s

The placename database covers the Poor Law Unions of Ballinrobe and Tuam roughly a 15 kilometer radius centered on Shrule , the townland database covers most of Connaught in lesser detail .

Find ::

When searching for a placename type some or all of the word and click search. If you are unsure of the spelling try a part of the word . For example the placename Mocharra sounds like Moharra so if you search for arra you should find it. For example a placename record ( eg Rostaff ) gives the townland ( eg Moyne ) and the civil parish ( eg Shrule ) .

Civil Parish details available :: 40

Abbeyknockmoy ,   Annaghdown ,   Athenry ,   Belclare ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballinrobe ,   Cargin ,   Clonbern ,   Claregalway ,   Cong (Galway) ,   Cummer ,   Dunmore ,   Donaghpatrick ,   Kilbennon ,   Kilconla ,   Kilmoylan ,   Kilcoona ,   Killeany ,   Killursa ,   Kilkilvery ,   Killower ,   Lackagh ,   Moylough ,   Monivea ,   Killererin ,   Tuam ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballyovey ,   Ballinrobe ,   Ballintober ,   Cong ,   Kilcommon ,   Kilmolara ,   Kilmainebeg ,   Kilmainemore ,   Moorgagagh ,   Mayo ,   Robeen ,   Shrule ,   Unknown ,   more to come . . . .

Barony details available

Clare  ,   Kilmaine  ,   more to come . . . .

Poor Law Unions details available

Tuam  ,   Ballinrobe  ,   more to come . . . .

Land divisions and Administration

Go to the Map Resources page for descriptions and explanations of the land divisions used in genealogy plus explanations of terms etc…

Civil Parish Maps

There are two general index maps of the Civil Parishes , one for South Mayo and the other for North Galway . These correspond roughly to the Baronies of Kilmaine (Co Mayo ) and Clare (Co Galway) and show the civil parish boundaries and parish locations in relation to each other.

Townland Index maps .

Official O.S. townland names in Shrule parish

Unknown   ,   Ballisnahyny   ,   Ballycurrin Demesne   ,   Ballynalty   ,   Brackloon   ,   Brodullagh North   ,   Brodullagh South   ,   Bunnafollistran   ,   Cahernabrock   ,   Cloghmoyne   ,   Cloonbanaun   ,   Commons   ,   Cullagh   ,   Dalgan Demesne   ,   Glasvally   ,   Gortatober   ,   Gortbrack   ,   Kinlough   ,   Mocollagan   ,   Mocorha   ,   Mounthenry   ,   Moyne   ,   Ramolin   ,   Rooaunalaghta   ,   Shrule   ,   Shrule Town   ,   Toorard   ,   Cornehan   ,   if the place you seek is not here it’s not an official townland name , search or select the parish link to see all placenames in that parish.
There are townland index maps for Shrule and the surrounding civil parishes available below . They show the townland boundaries and main features of the Civil Parish . They can be useful in locating adjacent townlands or parishes to the one you may be researching.

Categories: .

Web Design by CARGINsoft . © 1996-2010 . Hosted and maintained by CARGINsoft
Content supplied from many sources. eMail me if errors are found.