Community Centre

facebook page
Contact number
087 8331110.


A local venue suitable for a wide range of activities , events, meetings & classes. This Community facility is YOUR facility and we WELCOME you to use it .


Civil Parish record details , used pre 20th century …later DED divisions are used in census records
Explanation of administrative divisions such as D.E.D.s , Civil Parishs and Baronies , also some information on land measurement …

Moylough Civil Parish

Moylough :: Map not yet available County : Galway
Poor Law Union : Mountbellew
Barony : Killian
R.C. Parish : Moylough and Mountbellew
R.C. Diocese : Tuam
R.C. Church : Moylough
Marriage Records : 1848
Baptism records : 1848

Galway Library Field name book records

Official O.S. townland names in this parish are

Moat   Belderny North  
Annaghmore East   Cloonkeen  
Trasternagh South   Belderny South  
Annaghmore West   Corandoo  
Bovinion   Ballingatta  
Gortnaglogh   Liscloonmeeltoge  
Ballinrooaun   Kilbeg  
MOUNTBELLEW Town   Ballybaun  
Knockcorrandoo   Mountbellew Demesne  
Ballymageraghty   Lecarrow  
Shankill   Ballynamona  
Treanrevagh   Brierfield  
Carrowferrikeen   Carrowkeel  
Carrowmore   Carrownabo  
Castlebellew   Cloonascragh  
Clooncallaga   Clooncurreen  
Cloonmweelaun   Cloonoran  
Cooloo   Cooloo Mountain  
Coolwoneen   Creggauns  
Derryglassaun   Doonaun  
Elmhill   Esker  
Garbally   Gilkagh  
Gortaganny   Gorteendrishagh  
Gorteenlahard   Laughil  
Marlay   Mountsilk  
Moylough   Moylough Beg  
Moylough More   Mullaghmore East  
Mullaghmore North   Mullaghmore South  
Mullaghmore West   NEWTOWN BELLEW Town  
Pollacrossaun   Skehanagh  
Summerville   Templemoyle  
Tomree   Trasternagh North  
Windfield Demesne   Windfield Lower  
Windfield Upper  

Tithe Applotments (1823-38) Exact Locations unknown but in this parish.

Lewis’s Topographical Dictionary 1837.

Field Name books from 1840’s

The placename database covers the Poor Law Unions of Ballinrobe and Tuam roughly a 15 kilometer radius centered on Shrule , the townland database covers most of Connaught in lesser detail .

Find ::

When searching for a placename type some or all of the word and click search. If you are unsure of the spelling try a part of the word . For example the placename Mocharra sounds like Moharra so if you search for arra you should find it. For example a placename record ( eg Rostaff ) gives the townland ( eg Moyne ) and the civil parish ( eg Shrule ) .

Civil Parish details available :: 40

Abbeyknockmoy ,   Annaghdown ,   Athenry ,   Belclare ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballinrobe ,   Cargin ,   Clonbern ,   Claregalway ,   Cong (Galway) ,   Cummer ,   Dunmore ,   Donaghpatrick ,   Kilbennon ,   Kilconla ,   Kilmoylan ,   Kilcoona ,   Killeany ,   Killursa ,   Kilkilvery ,   Killower ,   Lackagh ,   Moylough ,   Monivea ,   Killererin ,   Tuam ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballyovey ,   Ballinrobe ,   Ballintober ,   Cong ,   Kilcommon ,   Kilmolara ,   Kilmainebeg ,   Kilmainemore ,   Moorgagagh ,   Mayo ,   Robeen ,   Shrule ,   Unknown ,   more to come . . . .

Barony details available

Clare  ,   Kilmaine  ,   more to come . . . .

Poor Law Unions details available

Tuam  ,   Ballinrobe  ,   more to come . . . .

Land divisions and Administration

Go to the Map Resources page for descriptions and explanations of the land divisions used in genealogy plus explanations of terms etc…

Civil Parish Maps

There are two general index maps of the Civil Parishes , one for South Mayo and the other for North Galway . These correspond roughly to the Baronies of Kilmaine (Co Mayo ) and Clare (Co Galway) and show the civil parish boundaries and parish locations in relation to each other.

Townland Index maps .

Official O.S. townland names in Shrule parish

Unknown   ,   Ballisnahyny   ,   Ballycurrin Demesne   ,   Ballynalty   ,   Brackloon   ,   Brodullagh North   ,   Brodullagh South   ,   Bunnafollistran   ,   Cahernabrock   ,   Cloghmoyne   ,   Cloonbanaun   ,   Commons   ,   Cullagh   ,   Dalgan Demesne   ,   Glasvally   ,   Gortatober   ,   Gortbrack   ,   Kinlough   ,   Mocollagan   ,   Mocorha   ,   Mounthenry   ,   Moyne   ,   Ramolin   ,   Rooaunalaghta   ,   Shrule   ,   Shrule Town   ,   Toorard   ,   Cornehan   ,   if the place you seek is not here it’s not an official townland name , search or select the parish link to see all placenames in that parish.
There are townland index maps for Shrule and the surrounding civil parishes available below . They show the townland boundaries and main features of the Civil Parish . They can be useful in locating adjacent townlands or parishes to the one you may be researching.

Categories: .

Web Design by CARGINsoft . © 1996-2010 . Hosted and maintained by CARGINsoft
Content supplied from many sources. eMail me if errors are found.