Community Centre

facebook page
Contact number
087 8331110.


A local venue suitable for a wide range of activities , events, meetings & classes. This Community facility is YOUR facility and we WELCOME you to use it .


Townland record details , townlands are the smallest official land division but many contain locally used placenames .
Explanation of administrative divisions such as D.E.D.s , Civil Parishs and Baronies , also some information on land measurement …


Official Townland name

Civil Parish Shrule
Barony Kilmaine
Poor Law Union Ballinrobe
County Mayo
Registrars District Cong
D.E.D. Shrule
Area 612 A. 2 R. 16 P.
O.S. 6″ sheet(s) Mayo 121 123
Griffiths Valuation Poor Law Union of Ballinrobe – Page # 155

Census of Ireland 1901 Head of Household (B1).

Head of Household’s :: Name Land Holder (Landlord) Building type
John Feeney John Feeney Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Michael Joyce Michael Joyce Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Michael O’Loughlin Michael O’Loughlin Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Michael O’Brien John Feeney Private dwelling with 1 rooms.
James Flaherty James Flaherty Private dwelling with 4 rooms.
John Kavanagh John Kavanagh Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Thomas Devaney Thomas Devaney Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Michael Dowd Michael Dowd Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
David Moghan David Moghan Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
John Moghan John Moghan Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Kate McHugh Kate McHugh Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Mary Morriss Mary Morriss Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Mary Murphy Mary Murphy Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Matthew Meeneghan Matthew Meeneghan Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Thomas Meeneghan Thomas Meeneghan Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Kate McHugh Kate McHugh Private dwelling with 1 rooms.

Griffiths Valuation details :: 1848-54

Click on the Griffiths Valuation Page # 155 to see a list of tenants with plot numbers to match the Griffith map.

 click for more detail

Townland plot map

Griffith’s final published valuation of South Mayo is dated circa 1854 due to the fact that Lady De Clifford is listed as owner of Dalgan and Patrick Kirwan owned it until sold in 1853 on account of the Encumbered Estates Act.The original surveys of Shrule were carried out in late 1838 ( from surveyors letters ).

Click on the map on the left to see a larger version

The map has each renters plot numbered and recorded in the Valuation book so the exact location of your ancestors plot can be ascertained. Click on the Griffiths Valuation Ballinrobe Page # 155 to see a list of tenants with plot numbers to match the Griffith map.

Tenants Name in the valuation Landlords name Comments
Ellen Cunningham George Vesey
John Devany George Vesey
James Dowd George Vesey
John Flaherty George Vesey
Roger Flaherty George Vesey
Patrick Kavanagh George Vesey
Patrick Menahan George Vesey
Thomas Menahan George Vesey
Patrick Millet George Vesey
Patrick Minahan George Vesey
Bridget Moghan George Vesey
David Moghan George Vesey
Martin Murphy George Vesey
William Murphy George Vesey
Michael Rourke George Vesey
George Vesey In Fee

Tithe Applotments :: 1828 – 38

Tenants Name in the records Placename as recorded Notes
Patrick Carty Cahernabruck
Martin Cavanaugh Cahernabruck
John Chrisham Cahernabruck
Stephen Connell Cahernabruck
Anthony Cunningham Cahernabruck
John Devany Cahernabruck
Michael Duane Cahernabruck
Roger Flaherty Cahernabruck
Thomas Mahon Cahernabruck
Patrick Meenaghan Cahernabruck
John Murphy Cahernabruck
Thomas Noone Cahernabruck
Stephen O’Brien Cahernabruck
Redmond Rorke Cahernabruck
Michael Rowland Cahernabruck
Austin Toole Cahernabruck


Placenames mentioned in this townland are :

Field Name Book

Field Name Book description from 1838/1839 noted by the surveyors who produced the O.S maps originally.


B.S.S.M. : 10
Gathair na mBroc , the stone fort of the badgers.

  • Gahernabroc : J. 0’D,
  • Gahirnamruck : County Map
  • Cahernarnhruck : Rev. Jas. Geraghty, P.P.
  • Gahernahruek : Meresman

Situated in the north side of the parish. It is bounded on
the N. by the parish of Kilmainebeg;E. by the tds. of Mocollagan and Brodullagh
North ; S. by the td. of Brodullagh South; and W. by the tds. of Carrowoughteragh
and Mocorha.

It contains 612a. 2r. 16p. , including 6a. 1r. 21 p. of water,
and is the property of George Vesey, Esq., Castlebar. Agent, Charles Cromie,
Esq. It is let to tenants, part under lease and part at will, in farms of
from 3 roods to 9 acres, at a yearly rent of from 14s. to 20s. per Irish
acre. The soil. is light and stony, producing good crops of wheat, oats
and potatoes. The tenants are all Catholics, There is in this td. an old
stone fort with a cave in it.

The placename database covers the Poor Law Unions of Ballinrobe and Tuam roughly a 15 kilometer radius centered on Shrule , the townland database covers most of Connaught in lesser detail .

Find ::

When searching for a placename type some or all of the word and click search. If you are unsure of the spelling try a part of the word . For example the placename Mocharra sounds like Moharra so if you search for arra you should find it. For example a placename record ( eg Rostaff ) gives the townland ( eg Moyne ) and the civil parish ( eg Shrule ) .

Civil Parish details available :: 40

Abbeyknockmoy ,   Annaghdown ,   Athenry ,   Belclare ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballinrobe ,   Cargin ,   Clonbern ,   Claregalway ,   Cong (Galway) ,   Cummer ,   Dunmore ,   Donaghpatrick ,   Kilbennon ,   Kilconla ,   Kilmoylan ,   Kilcoona ,   Killeany ,   Killursa ,   Kilkilvery ,   Killower ,   Lackagh ,   Moylough ,   Monivea ,   Killererin ,   Tuam ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballyovey ,   Ballinrobe ,   Ballintober ,   Cong ,   Kilcommon ,   Kilmolara ,   Kilmainebeg ,   Kilmainemore ,   Moorgagagh ,   Mayo ,   Robeen ,   Shrule ,   Unknown ,   more to come . . . .

Barony details available

Clare  ,   Kilmaine  ,   more to come . . . .

Poor Law Unions details available

Tuam  ,   Ballinrobe  ,   more to come . . . .

Land divisions and Administration

Go to the Map Resources page for descriptions and explanations of the land divisions used in genealogy plus explanations of terms etc…

Civil Parish Maps

There are two general index maps of the Civil Parishes , one for South Mayo and the other for North Galway . These correspond roughly to the Baronies of Kilmaine (Co Mayo ) and Clare (Co Galway) and show the civil parish boundaries and parish locations in relation to each other.

Townland Index maps .

Official O.S. townland names in Shrule parish

Unknown   ,   Ballisnahyny   ,   Ballycurrin Demesne   ,   Ballynalty   ,   Brackloon   ,   Brodullagh North   ,   Brodullagh South   ,   Bunnafollistran   ,   Cahernabrock   ,   Cloghmoyne   ,   Cloonbanaun   ,   Commons   ,   Cullagh   ,   Dalgan Demesne   ,   Glasvally   ,   Gortatober   ,   Gortbrack   ,   Kinlough   ,   Mocollagan   ,   Mocorha   ,   Mounthenry   ,   Moyne   ,   Ramolin   ,   Rooaunalaghta   ,   Shrule   ,   Shrule Town   ,   Toorard   ,   Cornehan   ,   if the place you seek is not here it’s not an official townland name , search or select the parish link to see all placenames in that parish.
There are townland index maps for Shrule and the surrounding civil parishes available below . They show the townland boundaries and main features of the Civil Parish . They can be useful in locating adjacent townlands or parishes to the one you may be researching.

Categories: .

Web Design by CARGINsoft . © 1996-2010 . Hosted and maintained by CARGINsoft
Content supplied from many sources. eMail me if errors are found.