Community Centre

facebook page
Contact number
087 8331110.


A local venue suitable for a wide range of activities , events, meetings & classes. This Community facility is YOUR facility and we WELCOME you to use it .


Townland record details , townlands are the smallest official land division but many contain locally used placenames .
Explanation of administrative divisions such as D.E.D.s , Civil Parishs and Baronies , also some information on land measurement …


Official Townland name

Civil Parish Shrule
Barony Kilmaine
Poor Law Union Ballinrobe
County Mayo
Registrars District Cong
D.E.D. Shrule
Area 332 A. 3 R. 8 P.
O.S. 6″ sheet(s) Mayo 123
Griffiths Valuation Poor Law Union of Ballinrobe – Page # 160

Census of Ireland 1901 Head of Household (B1).

Head of Household’s :: Name Land Holder (Landlord) Building type
Martin Geraghty Martin Geraghty Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Julia Geraghty Julia Geraghty Private dwelling with 3 rooms.
William Garvey William Garvey Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Mick Kyne Mick Kyne Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Martin Burke Martin Burke Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Mark Concannon Mark Concannon Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Mick Garvey Mick Garvey Private dwelling with 3 rooms.
Michael McHugh Michael McHugh Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Pat Burke Pat Burke Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Bridget Garvey Bridget Garvey Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Michael Kyne Michael Kyne Private dwelling with 1 rooms.
Mary Garvey Mary Garvey Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
John Barrett John Barrett Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
John Joyce John Joyce Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Thomas Noone Thomas Noone Private dwelling with 1 rooms.
Kate Brown Kate Brown Private dwelling with 2 rooms.

Griffiths Valuation details :: 1848-54

Click on the Griffiths Valuation Page # 160 to see a list of tenants with plot numbers to match the Griffith map.

 click for more detail

Townland plot map

Griffith’s final published valuation of South Mayo is dated circa 1854 due to the fact that Lady De Clifford is listed as owner of Dalgan and Patrick Kirwan owned it until sold in 1853 on account of the Encumbered Estates Act.The original surveys of Shrule were carried out in late 1838 ( from surveyors letters ).

Click on the map on the left to see a larger version

The map has each renters plot numbered and recorded in the Valuation book so the exact location of your ancestors plot can be ascertained. Click on the Griffiths Valuation Ballinrobe Page # 160 to see a list of tenants with plot numbers to match the Griffith map.

Tenants Name in the valuation Landlords name Comments
John Bourke Charles Lynch
Thomas Canavan Charles Lynch
Michael Concannon Charles Lynch
Michael Coyne Charles Lynch
Anthony Garvey Charles Lynch
James Garvey Charles Lynch
John Garvey Charles Lynch
Thomas Jr. Garvey Charles Lynch
Thomas Sr. Garvey Charles Lynch
John Gavan Charles Lynch
Michael Geraghty Charles Lynch
Thomas Sr. Geraghty Charles Lynch
Honora Hynes Charles Lynch
Thomas Joyce Charles Lynch
Mary Mc Guire Charles Lynch
Mary Mc Hugh Charles Lynch
Patrick Whelan Charles Lynch

Tithe Applotments :: 1828 – 38

Tenants Name in the records Placename as recorded Notes
Patrick Garvey Gurthbrack
Thomas Geraghty Gurthbrack


Placenames mentioned in this townland are :

Field Name Book

Field Name Book description from 1838/1839 noted by the surveyors who produced the O.S maps originally.


B.S.S.M. : 18
Gort Breac , speckled field.

  • Gortbrack : J. 0’D,
  • Gorthbrack : Co. Map
  • Gortbrack : Inq. temp. Eliz.
  • Gortbracke : Inq. temp. Jac.. I.
  • Gortbrack : Strafford’s Survey

Situated in the south-west corner of the parish.It is bounded on the N . by the tds. of Ballycurrin and Mounthenry;
E. by Moyne td.; and S. and W. by the ph. of Killursa, in the Co. Galway.

It contains 332a. 3r. 8p., and is the property of Captain Lynch, of Ballycurrin House.
It is let to tenants at will, in farms of from 4 to 12 acres, at a yearly rent of from 16s. to 22s. per Irish acre.
The Greater part of this td. is rocks and rough boggy land. The tenants are all Catholics.

The placename database covers the Poor Law Unions of Ballinrobe and Tuam roughly a 15 kilometer radius centered on Shrule , the townland database covers most of Connaught in lesser detail .

Find ::

When searching for a placename type some or all of the word and click search. If you are unsure of the spelling try a part of the word . For example the placename Mocharra sounds like Moharra so if you search for arra you should find it. For example a placename record ( eg Rostaff ) gives the townland ( eg Moyne ) and the civil parish ( eg Shrule ) .

Civil Parish details available :: 40

Abbeyknockmoy ,   Annaghdown ,   Athenry ,   Belclare ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballinrobe ,   Cargin ,   Clonbern ,   Claregalway ,   Cong (Galway) ,   Cummer ,   Dunmore ,   Donaghpatrick ,   Kilbennon ,   Kilconla ,   Kilmoylan ,   Kilcoona ,   Killeany ,   Killursa ,   Kilkilvery ,   Killower ,   Lackagh ,   Moylough ,   Monivea ,   Killererin ,   Tuam ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballyovey ,   Ballinrobe ,   Ballintober ,   Cong ,   Kilcommon ,   Kilmolara ,   Kilmainebeg ,   Kilmainemore ,   Moorgagagh ,   Mayo ,   Robeen ,   Shrule ,   Unknown ,   more to come . . . .

Barony details available

Clare  ,   Kilmaine  ,   more to come . . . .

Poor Law Unions details available

Tuam  ,   Ballinrobe  ,   more to come . . . .

Land divisions and Administration

Go to the Map Resources page for descriptions and explanations of the land divisions used in genealogy plus explanations of terms etc…

Civil Parish Maps

There are two general index maps of the Civil Parishes , one for South Mayo and the other for North Galway . These correspond roughly to the Baronies of Kilmaine (Co Mayo ) and Clare (Co Galway) and show the civil parish boundaries and parish locations in relation to each other.

Townland Index maps .

Official O.S. townland names in Shrule parish

Unknown   ,   Ballisnahyny   ,   Ballycurrin Demesne   ,   Ballynalty   ,   Brackloon   ,   Brodullagh North   ,   Brodullagh South   ,   Bunnafollistran   ,   Cahernabrock   ,   Cloghmoyne   ,   Cloonbanaun   ,   Commons   ,   Cullagh   ,   Dalgan Demesne   ,   Glasvally   ,   Gortatober   ,   Gortbrack   ,   Kinlough   ,   Mocollagan   ,   Mocorha   ,   Mounthenry   ,   Moyne   ,   Ramolin   ,   Rooaunalaghta   ,   Shrule   ,   Shrule Town   ,   Toorard   ,   Cornehan   ,   if the place you seek is not here it’s not an official townland name , search or select the parish link to see all placenames in that parish.
There are townland index maps for Shrule and the surrounding civil parishes available below . They show the townland boundaries and main features of the Civil Parish . They can be useful in locating adjacent townlands or parishes to the one you may be researching.

Categories: .

Web Design by CARGINsoft . © 1996-2010 . Hosted and maintained by CARGINsoft
Content supplied from many sources. eMail me if errors are found.