Community Centre

facebook page
Contact number
087 8331110.


A local venue suitable for a wide range of activities , events, meetings & classes. This Community facility is YOUR facility and we WELCOME you to use it .


Townland record details , townlands are the smallest official land division but many contain locally used placenames .
Explanation of administrative divisions such as D.E.D.s , Civil Parishs and Baronies , also some information on land measurement …


Official Townland name

Civil Parish Shrule
Barony Kilmaine
Poor Law Union Ballinrobe
County Mayo
Registrars District Cong
D.E.D. Shrule
Area 235 A. 0 R. 16 P.
O.S. 6″ sheet(s) Mayo 123
Griffiths Valuation Poor Law Union of Ballinrobe – Page # 161

Census of Ireland 1901 Head of Household (B1).

Head of Household’s :: Name Land Holder (Landlord) Building type
Michael Cottingham Michael Cottingham Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Bridget Kain Bridget Kain Private dwelling with 1 rooms.
Bridget Hynes Bridget Hynes Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
John Cavanagh John Cavanagh Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Martin Bourke Martin Bourke Private dwelling with 1 rooms.
Michael Sweeney Michael Sweeney Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Patrick Geoghegan Patrick Geoghegan Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Thomas Harte Thomas Harte Private dwelling with 2 rooms.
Patrick Foy Patrick Foy Private dwelling with 1 rooms.
Catherine Newell Catherine Newell Private dwelling with 5 rooms.
Catherine Newell Private dwelling with – rooms.
Kilroe Nat.Sch with – rooms.
Thomas Garvey Private dwelling with – rooms.

Griffiths Valuation details :: 1848-54

Click on the Griffiths Valuation Page # 161 to see a list of tenants with plot numbers to match the Griffith map.

 click for more detail

Townland plot map

Griffith’s final published valuation of South Mayo is dated circa 1854 due to the fact that Lady De Clifford is listed as owner of Dalgan and Patrick Kirwan owned it until sold in 1853 on account of the Encumbered Estates Act.The original surveys of Shrule were carried out in late 1838 ( from surveyors letters ).

Click on the map on the left to see a larger version

The map has each renters plot numbered and recorded in the Valuation book so the exact location of your ancestors plot can be ascertained. Click on the Griffiths Valuation Ballinrobe Page # 161 to see a list of tenants with plot numbers to match the Griffith map.

Tenants Name in the valuation Landlords name Comments
School Board of Education Charles Lynch
John Blake Charles Lynch
Catherine Browne Charles Lynch
Patrick Cottingham Bridget Garvey
Charles Coyne Charles Lynch
Michael Devany Charles Lynch
William Duggan Charles Lynch
Judith Fahy Charles Lynch
Anthony Finn Bridget Garvey
Anthony Garvey Charles Lynch
Bridget Garvey Charles Lynch
Thomas Sr. Garvey Charles Lynch
James Hart Charles Lynch
Owen Hynes Patrick Molloy
Patrick Hynes Charles Lynch
Margaret Keane Charles Lynch
Michael Kelly Margaret Lynch
Charles Lynch In fee
Margaret Lynch Charles Lynch
Patrick Mc Manus Charles Lynch
Judith Mc Tigue Charles Lynch
Ellen Millet Patrick & Thomas Sweeney
Michael Moghan Charles Lynch
Patrick Molloy Charles Lynch
Patrick Sweeny Charles Lynch
Thomas Sweeny Charles Lynch

Tithe Applotments :: 1828 – 38

Tenants Name in the records Placename as recorded Notes
Charles Blake Kilroe
? Kelly Mount Henry
Courtney Kenny Kilroe
Thomas Keville Kilroe
? Sullivan Mount Henry


Placenames mentioned in this townland are :

Field Name Book

Field Name Book description from 1838/1839 noted by the surveyors who produced the O.S maps originally.


B.S.S.M. : 22

  • Mounthenry : J. 0’D,
  • Mounthenry or Coarse Park : Rev. Jas. Geraghty
  • Mounthenry : IMeresman

Situated in the south side of the parish.
It is bounded on the N. by the td. of Glasvally E. by tds. of Cloghmoyne and Ballisnahyny; S. by Gortbrack ; and W.. by Ballycurrin td.

It contains 235a. Or 16p.,.and is the property, of captain Lynch, Ballycurrin House .
It is let to tenants at will, in farms of from 5 to 12 acres, at the yearly rent of from 18s. to 20s. per Irish acre.
There is a great deal of rocky and boggy land, for which the tenants also pay.
The tenants are all Catholics. There is a Roman Catholic Chapel on the boundary between this td. and Cloghmoyne td.

The placename database covers the Poor Law Unions of Ballinrobe and Tuam roughly a 15 kilometer radius centered on Shrule , the townland database covers most of Connaught in lesser detail .

Find ::

When searching for a placename type some or all of the word and click search. If you are unsure of the spelling try a part of the word . For example the placename Mocharra sounds like Moharra so if you search for arra you should find it. For example a placename record ( eg Rostaff ) gives the townland ( eg Moyne ) and the civil parish ( eg Shrule ) .

Civil Parish details available :: 40

Abbeyknockmoy ,   Annaghdown ,   Athenry ,   Belclare ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballinrobe ,   Cargin ,   Clonbern ,   Claregalway ,   Cong (Galway) ,   Cummer ,   Dunmore ,   Donaghpatrick ,   Kilbennon ,   Kilconla ,   Kilmoylan ,   Kilcoona ,   Killeany ,   Killursa ,   Kilkilvery ,   Killower ,   Lackagh ,   Moylough ,   Monivea ,   Killererin ,   Tuam ,   Ballinchalla ,   Ballyovey ,   Ballinrobe ,   Ballintober ,   Cong ,   Kilcommon ,   Kilmolara ,   Kilmainebeg ,   Kilmainemore ,   Moorgagagh ,   Mayo ,   Robeen ,   Shrule ,   Unknown ,   more to come . . . .

Barony details available

Clare  ,   Kilmaine  ,   more to come . . . .

Poor Law Unions details available

Tuam  ,   Ballinrobe  ,   more to come . . . .

Land divisions and Administration

Go to the Map Resources page for descriptions and explanations of the land divisions used in genealogy plus explanations of terms etc…

Civil Parish Maps

There are two general index maps of the Civil Parishes , one for South Mayo and the other for North Galway . These correspond roughly to the Baronies of Kilmaine (Co Mayo ) and Clare (Co Galway) and show the civil parish boundaries and parish locations in relation to each other.

Townland Index maps .

Official O.S. townland names in Shrule parish

Unknown   ,   Ballisnahyny   ,   Ballycurrin Demesne   ,   Ballynalty   ,   Brackloon   ,   Brodullagh North   ,   Brodullagh South   ,   Bunnafollistran   ,   Cahernabrock   ,   Cloghmoyne   ,   Cloonbanaun   ,   Commons   ,   Cullagh   ,   Dalgan Demesne   ,   Glasvally   ,   Gortatober   ,   Gortbrack   ,   Kinlough   ,   Mocollagan   ,   Mocorha   ,   Mounthenry   ,   Moyne   ,   Ramolin   ,   Rooaunalaghta   ,   Shrule   ,   Shrule Town   ,   Toorard   ,   Cornehan   ,   if the place you seek is not here it’s not an official townland name , search or select the parish link to see all placenames in that parish.
There are townland index maps for Shrule and the surrounding civil parishes available below . They show the townland boundaries and main features of the Civil Parish . They can be useful in locating adjacent townlands or parishes to the one you may be researching.

Categories: .

Web Design by CARGINsoft . © 1996-2010 . Hosted and maintained by CARGINsoft
Content supplied from many sources. eMail me if errors are found.